# 11th International Symposium in Cold Region Development (ISCORD-Incheon 2016)

May 18 ~ 20, Incheon, Korea



Supported by: IACORDS & Korean Geotechnical Society (KGS)

## **Conference Chairman:**

Shin, Eun Chul (Professor, Incheon National University)

## **Conference Co-Chairman:**

Lee, Bang Yong (Director, Korea Polar Research Institute)

## **General Secretary:**

Lee, Jong Sub (Professor, Korea University)
Lee, Jangguen (Research Fellow, KICT)
Kim, Dongwook (Incheon National University)

Organized by: IACORDS, KGS, INU





Bulletin No.1 First Announcement And Call for papers



## **Introduction:**

ISCORD-Incheon 2016 builds on the success of previous symposia: ISCORD-Sapporo 1983, ISCORD-Harbin 1988, ISCORD-Edmonton 1991, ISCORD-Espoo 1991, ISCORD-Anchorage 1997, ISCORD-Hobart 2000, ISCORD-Sapporo 2004, ISCORD-Tampere 2007, ISCORD-Yakutsk 2010 and ISCORD-Anchorage 2013.

The purposes of the symposium are to provide cold region experts with opportunities to exchange a wide range of scientific, technological and cultural expertise to enable the development of the cold regions. The symposium will include research and developments advances in laboratory geotechnical testing, including apparatus, techniques, data acquisition and interpretation etc.

# **Goals of the Symposium:**

- Research and developments in advanced laboratory geotechnical testing, including apparatus, techniques, data acquisition and interpretation.
- Applications of advanced laboratory and field testing to integrated site characterization and ground modelling.
- Demonstrating the value of practical engineering applications. This involves reporting collaborative studies on laboratory and field testing, sampling, theoretical and numerical analysis, project engineering and full scale observation.

## Themes:

- Frozen Ground and Permafrost
- Building Design
- Construction Techniques
- Logistics Issues
- Ports and Shipping
- Pavement Performance
- Sustainable Technologies
- Oil and Gas
- Pipeline Infrastructure in the Frozen Environment
- Environmental Considerations

- Energy Issues, including Renewable Sources
- Socio-Cultural Considerations
- Policy Development
- Structure and Foundation Failures
- · Geomatics and Specific Arctic Issues
- Education
- Life-Line and Earthquake Engineering
- Water and Wastewater Systems
- Road Maintenance
- Urban Snow Management
- · Innovative Engineering Solutions

# Contacts (iscord2016@gmail.com):

## **Professor Shin, Eun Chul**

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Incheon National University Incheon, Korea Email: ecshin@incheon.ac.kr

## Professor Lee, Jong-Sub

School of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering, Korea University Seoul, Korea Email: jongsub@korea.ac.kr

## Dr. Lee, Jangguen

Infrastructure Research Department Korea Institute of Construction and Technology Goyang-Si, Gyeonggi-Do, Korea Email: jlee@kict.re.kr

## **Important Dates:**

Call for Abstracts: June, 2015

(Extended) Abstract Submission Deadline: Oct. 31, 2015 (Extended) Abstract Approval Notification: Nov 15, 2015

Draft Papers Due: Dec. 20, 2015 Final Papers Due: Feb. 20, 2016

Deadline for Early Bird Registration: March 20, 2016

Website: http://iscord2016.com/

# **Organizing Committee:**

## Chairman:

Shin, Eun Chul (Incheon National University)

#### Co-Chairman:

Lee, Bang Yong (Director, Korea Polar Research Institute

#### **Conference Secretariat:**

Lee, Jong Sub (Korea University)
Lee, Jangguen (Korea Institution of Civil Engineering and Building Technology)

Kim, Dongwook (Incheon National University)

#### **Administration:**

Kim, Young Uk (Myungji University)

## **Scientific and Program:**

Kim, Hyun Gi (Kook Min University) Shin, Ho Sung (Ulsan University)

#### Advertisement:

Park, Do Hee (Han Yang University) Yoon, Tae Seob (Yonsei University) Cho, Wan Jae (Dankook University)

## Sponsorship:

Kim, Young Seok (Korea Institution of Civil Engineering and Building Technology) Ahn, Min Hye (RA Engineering Ltd, Korea)

# **International Advisory Committee:**

## **Chairman:**

Thomas G. Krzewinski (Golder Associates, USA)

## Co-chairman:

Hannele K Zubeck (University of Alaska)

## Member:

Shunji Kanie (Hokkaido University, Japan) Jon E. Zufelt (US Army Corps of Engineers, USA)

Joel D. Ulring (Golder Associates Inc)

Keiichi Satoh (Hokka School of Commerce, Japan)

Akira Hasegawa (Hachinohe Institute of Technology, Japan) V.N. Paramonov (St. Petersburg State Transport University, Russia)

Z, Maocai (Harbin, China)

Masaaki Minami (Iwate University, Japan)

Anthony James Foy (Australian Antarctic Division, Australia)

Mike Swinton (Canadian Centre for Housing Technology, Canada)

Zekhniev Farshed (NIIOSP, Russia)

Dong-Feng Chen (Jilin Province Communication Science Research Institute, China)

Xinglong Wang (Heilongjiang Institute of Highways & Transport Research, China)

Pernille Erland Jensen (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark)

Riitta Kamula (Thule Institute, University of Oulu, Finland)

# **International Promotion Committee:**

## **Chairman:**

Askar Zhussupbekov (L N. Gumilyov Eurasian National University, Kazakhstan)

## Co-Chairman:

Hiroshi Saeki (Hokkaido University, Japan) David Blake (British Antarctic Survey, UK)

#### Member:

Kouichi Ayuta (Kitami Institute of Technology, Japan), Makoto Kagaya (Akita University, Japan),

Mitsuru Honda (Hokkaido Development Engineering Center, Japan)

Andrzej Patalas (Autostrada Wielkopolska, Poland) Zbigniew Mlynarek (Polish Committee on Geotechnics; PCG, Poland)

Anastasia N. Tseeva (Yakut State Design and Research Institute for Construction, Republic of Sakha, Russia),

Terenty A. Kornilov (Yakutsk State University, Republic of Sakha, Russia),

Robert E. Harris (Controls Engineering Inc., USA) James Rooney (R&M CONSULTANTS, INC., USA)

John Ma (University of Tennessee, USA)

Vitaly Kogay (NIISOP, Russia)

Igor Sakharov (GRF, Georeconstruction, Russia)

Tadatsugu Tanaka (University of Tokyo, Japan)

Matvey L. Nuzhdin (Novosibirsk State University, Russia) Sergey Kudryavtsev (Far Eastern State Transport University, Russia)

Atsuko Sato (Research Institute for Cold Region, Japan)
Mitsuru Yamada (Research Institute for Cold Region, Japan)

Satoshi Nishimoto (Research Institute for Cold Region, Japan) Yelbek Utepov (Eurasian National University, Kazakhstan)

Jiankun Liu (Beijing Jiaotong University, China)

Teltayev Bagdat B. (Highway Research Institute, Kazakhstan) Zhanbolat Shakhmov (LN Gymilyou Eurasian National

University, Kazakhstan)

Talgat M. Baitassov (LN Gymilyou Eurasian National University, Kazakhstan)

Vitaliy A. Khomyakov (kazakh Leading Academy of Architecture and Civil Engineering, Kazakhstan)

## **Scientific Committee:**

## **Chairman:**

Lee, Jong Sub (Korea University)

## Co-Chairman:

Braja, M. Das (California State University) Kim, Dongwook (Incheon National University)

#### Member:

Kim, Hak-Sam (Yeungnam University College)

Ryu, Byeong Hyun (Korea Institution of Civil Engineering and Building Technology)

Park, Jung Joon (GK Engineering, Ltd, Korea)

Kang, Jeong Ku (Incheon National University)

Choi, Chang Ho (Korea Institution of Civil Engineering and Building Technology)

Choi, Chan Yong (Korea Railroad Research Institute)

Kim, Gi han (DCRE Company Ltd, Korea)

Kim, Jong In (Jeongbang Engineering, Korea)

Lee, Yong Soo (Korea Institution of Civil Engineering and Building Technology)

Lee, Gil Ho (Gyeong In Infrastructure Safety & Technology Co., Korea)

Kwon, Hyeok Ki (Gyeong In Infrastructure Safety & Technology Co., Korea)

Kwon, Yong Cheul (Korea Cyber University, Korea)

Rashid Mangushev (SPSUACE, Russia)

Adil Zhakulin (Kradanda State Technical University, Kazakhstan) Ilizar T. Mirsayapov (KSUAE, Russia)